StateBreaking News

ECI announces dates of Badrinath & Manglaur Assembly by-elections

Tuesday, 11 June 2024 | PNS | DEHRADUN

 The voting for Manglaur and Badrinath Assembly by-elections will be held on July 10. The Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the dates of the Assembly by- elections of 13 assembly constituencies of Bihar, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab and Himachal Pradesh on Tuesday.

 The chief electoral officer (CEO) of Uttarakhand, BVRC Purushottam informed that according to the schedule of the ECI, the process of the nominations for the by- elections will start on June 14 with the issue of gazette notification. The last date for the filing of the nomination papers will be June 21 while the candidates can withdraw their nomination papers before June 26. The polling in both the assembly constituencies will be held on July 10 and the counting of the votes will be done on July 13.

The CEO informed that the model code of conduct (MCC) will remain enforced in Haridwar and Chamoli districts in view of the by- elections.

 He said that the by- election commission will set up 210 polling booths in Badrinath while 132 polling booths will be set up for Manglaur by election. There are 1,02,145 and 1,19,930 voters  in Badrinath and Manglaur assembly constituencies.

The by-election in the Manglaur assembly constituency was necessitated due to the death of MLA Sarwat Karim Ansari of BSP in October last year. The holding of the by- election in Manglaur was delayed due to the petition filed by the Congress candidate Qazi Nizamuddin. In the assembly election held in the year 2022, Ansari contested on the ticket of BSP and defeated Qazi Nizamuddin of Congress. In the by- election Qazi will contest on Congress ticket while BSP is expected to field Late MLA’s son.

 The by-election in Badrinath assembly of Chamoli district is being necessitated due to the resignation of MLA Rajendra Bhandari. He resigned from the Congress party to join the BJP just ahead of the Lok Sabha elections. In the assembly elections held in the year 2022 Bhandari had defeated Mahendra Bhatt of BJP. After the defeat Bhatt was made president of Uttarakhand BJP. He was later sent to the Rajya Sabha by BJP. In the by-election Bhandari is expected to contest as BJP candidate.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button