Breaking News

U’khand awaits Lok Sabha 2024 mandate

Tuesday, 04 June 2024 | PNS | DEHRADUN

After a long wait of 45 days since the day of voting on April 19, the results of the five Lok Sabha constituencies of Uttarakhand will be declared on Tuesday. The State recorded 57.22 per cent voter turnout in the elections which is 4.08 per cent less than the turnout in the LS elections of 2019.

 In Garhwal LS constituency where there is a direct contest between national spokesperson of BJP, Anil Baluni and Ganesh Godiyal of Congress, a voter turnout of 52.42 per cent was reported. In the LS elections of 2019, 58.30 per cent turnout was reported here. Here the women voters are expected to play an important role in deciding the winner.

 In Haridwar former CM Trivendra Singh Rawat of BJP and Virendra Singh Rawat of Congress are in a direct fight. Here 63.53 per cent turnout was reported in 2024 against 71.50 per cent in 2019. Here the inclination of Dalit voters and votes polled by BSP candidate and independent Umesh Sharma are likely to influence the outcome.

 In Tehri 53.76 per cent turnout was reported in this election. In the elections of 2019, 61.30 per cent turnout was reported. In Tehri Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah of BJP is taking on the challenge posed by Jot Singh Gunsola of Congress. Here independent candidate Bobby Panwar is trying to make the contest tri-cornered.

In Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar constituency the union minister of state Ajay Bhatt is seeking re-election. He is being challenged by Prakash Joshi of Congress. In this constituency 62.47 per cent turnout was reported which is 10 per cent less than the turnout in 2019. 

 In the Almora (reserved) constituency old rivals Ajay Tamta of BJP and Pradeep Tamta of Congress are again  in the fray. Here 48.74 voter turnout was reported in 2024 while 55.10 per cent voters came out to vote in LS elections of 2019.

Related Articles

Back to top button