Breaking News

LS polls 2024- All await declaration of results today

Tuesday, 04 June 2024 | PNS | DEHRADUN

 The Election Commission has made all the preparations for the counting of votes for the Lok Sabha elections 2024 in all the districts of the State. The counting of votes will be done assembly constituency wise. There are 14 Assembly constituencies in each of the five LS constituencies in the State. The additional chief electoral officer (ACEO) Uttarakhand, Vijay Kumar Jogdande told media persons on Monday that the counting will be done in 884 tables in the counting centres. He said that all necessary procedures for the counting are complete.

The ACEO said that 27 observers have been deployed in the State for counting. The strong rooms where the EVMs are stored will be opened in presence of agents of all political parties and observers. Videography of the process of opening of the strong rooms will be done. Jogdande said that the counting of Postal Ballots will be done at the five Returning Officer (RO) headquarters of Dehradun, Haridwar, Pauri, Udham Singh Nagar and Almora. The counting of Postal Ballots will start at 8 am and in the RO headquarters the counting of EVMs will commence at 8.30 am. In all other counting centres (other than RO headquarters) the counting of EVMs will start at 8 am. Jogdande said that on every table three employees, a counting supervisor, counting assistant and a micro observer will be stationed. He said that three tier security arrangements have been set up at the counting centres. The innermost tier will be manned by CAPF personnel while State armed police and State police will be deployed at second and third circles.

 The ACEO informed that 27,156 employees deployed on election duties have  exercised their franchise by postal ballots. Apart from them 12,670 physically disabled and 85 plus voters used ballot papers in the elections. He further informed that 52,053 electronically transmitted postal ballots ( ETPBS) have been received in the ROs till date. The ETPBS sent by service voters will be accepted till 8 am on June 4, he added.

Related Articles

Back to top button