Breaking News

Countdown for voting in U’khand starts as campaign ends

Thursday, 18 APRIL 2024 | PNS | DEHRADUN

The campaigning for the five Lok Sabha constituencies of Uttarakhand ended at 5 pm on Wednesday.  With the end of the campaign the candidates and their supporters have started the door to door canvassing. In the State 83,21,207 voters are eligible to cast their vote. The voting will start at 7 am and end at 5 pm on April 19 in all the five LS constituencies of the State.

The campaigning in the State started after the announcement of the election by the Election Commission of India on March 16.

 In all the five LS constituencies there is a direct contest between the candidates of BJP and Congress party. In Tehri LS constituency Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah of BJP is seeking her fourth term in the Lok Sabha. She is challenged by Jot Singh Gonsola, a two time former MLA of Congress party. Young Bobby Panwar is trying to make the contest three cornered in Tehri. The Garhwal LS constituency has become one of the most talked about constituencies of the State after BJP decided to replace the sitting MP, Teerath Singh Rawat with its national media advisor Anil Baluni from this constituency. Here Baluni is facing a stiff challenge from Ganesh Godiyal of Congress party. In Haridwar LS constituency,  BJP has fielded former chief minister Trivendra Singh Rawat  while Congress has given ticket to Virendra Singh Rawat who is son of former CM Harish Rawat.  In Nainital- Udham Singh Nagar constituency, the union minister of defence Ajay Bhatt is seeking election for the second consecutive term. The Congress has fielded Prakash Joshi from this constituency. In Almora (SC) constituency it is the contest between old opponents, Ajay Tamta of BJP and Pradeep Tamta of Congress party.

Related Articles

Back to top button