Top Stories

11,008 polling parties to leave for their destinations today

Thursday, 18 APRIL 2024 | PNS | DEHRADUN

A total of 11,008 polling parties will leave for their destinations on Thursday from all the districts of the State. These polling parties will arrive at their polling stations by evening and make necessary preparations in their respective polling stations for the day of voting on April 19. The Additional Chief Electoral Officer (ACEO) Vijay Kumar Jogdande has said that on Wednesday 703 polling parties left for their destinations while 12 parties had left on Tuesday. Interacting with the media persons, he said that all the polling parties will inform about their departure on the PDMS portal.

Jogdande said that the campaigning in all the five constituencies in the State ended at 5 pm on Wednesday. He said that 48 hours prior to the end of voting ( after 5 pm on April 17) all political parties/ candidates/ organisations/ persons should have to take prior permission of State or district level MCMC for publishing any advertisements in newspapers. Jogdande said that as per the directions of Election Commission of India, the publication or broadcast of any exit poll will remain banned from the commencement of first phase of polling till half an hour after end of last phase of polling. The publication or broadcast of any opinion poll is also prohibited 48 hours before the voting day.

 He said that a dry day has been declared in the State from 5 pm of April 17 to end of voting. Similarly the dry day will remain effective in a periphery of three km in the areas adjacent to the neighbouring states when the voting will be held in these States.

Related Articles

Back to top button