Transport dept officials flouting EC’s order, alleges Dandriyal

Friday, 28 January 2022 | PNS | Dehradun

The president of Dehradun Mahanagar City Bus Seva Mahasangh and member of RTI Club, Vijay Vardhan Dandriyal has alleged that some senior officials of the Transport department are openly flouting the orders of the Election Commission and other senior authorities by showering undue favour to the regional transport officer (RTO) of Dehradun, Dinesh Chandra Pathoi. He alleged that on the directions of the Election Commission of India, chief secretary Sukhbir Singh Sandhu issued a letter to all the secretaries of all departments to transfer such officers who would complete the tenure of three years in the past four years by March 2022 and are currently deployed in home districts. Despite this, the transport department did not transfer RTO Dinesh Chandra Pathoi who has completed over 3.6 years in the district, averred Dandriyal. He said, “The state administration had also issued a list of officials to be transferred in which, Pathoi’s name was at the top but somehow still managed to stay while the then RTO (enforcement) Sandeep Saini was transferred to Haldwani who was only posted for about a year in Dehradun. On my complaint to the Election Commission of India, the assistant CEO of the state questioned the transport secretary Ranjit Sinha about not transferring Pathoi from Sugam (accessible area) to Durgam (hard to access) as per the first transfer list issued by the administration and directed to take action on the matter but nothing happened.” He further added that the government must not have transferred the officers who served for only about a year as the state had announced this financial year as a zero transfer session. “I have written to the senior officials of the government and appealed to them to look into the blatant violations by senior officials in the transport department which are tarnishing the image of the state administration,” he said. 

Related Articles

Back to top button