Breaking News

Rudraprayag MLA Chaudhary offers his seat to CM Dhami

Friday, 15 April 2022 | PNS | Dehradun

Many MLAs have so far have offered their seats to Dhami to fulfil the constitutional obligation of getting elected to assembly within six months

The Rudraprayag MLA Bharat Singh Chaudhary has joined the league of the MLAs ready to vacate their seats for chief minister Pushkar Singh Dhami. Chaudhary made this offer in a public meeting organised during the Baisakhi Fair in Rudraprayag on Thursday. CM Dhami was also present on the occasion. Chaudhary said that the CM should contest from Rudraprayag assembly constituency.  It is pertinent to mention here that more than half a dozen MLAs have so far offered to vacate their seats in favour of Dhami. They include Champawat MLA Kailash Gehtodi, Jageshwar MLA Mohan Singh Mehra, Lalkuan MLA Mohan Singh Bisht, Roorkee MLA Pradeep Batra and independent MLA from Khanpur Umesh Sharma has offered to relinquish their membership of Uttarakhand assembly for CM Dhami. The Congress MLA from Dharchula, Harish Dhami has also said that he can leave his seat for CM.

In the recent assembly elections, Dhami had contested from his traditional Khatima assembly constituency of Udham Singh Nagar district. However he was defeated by Bhuwan Kapdi of Congress party by a margin of 6,759 votes. In these elections the ruling BJP came back to power by winning 47 out of 70 seats in the state assembly. The central leadership of BJP reposed faith in Dhami after which he became CM of the state for the second consecutive time. Dhami now needs to get elected to the state assembly within six months and for it he is scouting for a safe seat for himself.

Related Articles

Back to top button