Polling for Badrinath, Manglaur Assembly bypolls today

Wednesday, 10 JULY 2024 | PNS | DEHRADUN

The polling for the Badrinath and Manglaur Assembly by- elections will be held on Wednesday.  The election commission has made all the arrangements for peaceful polls in both the constituencies. The deputy chief electoral officer (DCEO), Uttarakhand Mukta Mishra said that all the polling parties have reached their destinations.  She said that about 4,200 employees have been deputed on election duty for the by elections.

 The additional chief electoral officer (ACEO), Mastu Das said that the polling parties have reached the polling stations on foot in the areas where landslides have blocked roads in Badrinath constituency. He said that arrangement of reserve vehicles has also been made for the polling parties. Das said that a total of 624 complaints were received through C-Vigil in Badrinath and Manglaur and 623 of them have been solved. The authorities seized Rs 15.95 lakh cash and liquor worth Rs 32 lakh in the by elections.

Das informed that for the first time nine high altitude polling stations have been established in Badrinath. In these stations 3838 voters of 17 villages will exercise their franchise.

There is a direct contest between Rajendra Bhandari of BJP and  Lakhpat Singh Butola of Congress in Badrinath while in Manglaur there is a three cornered contest between Congress candidate Qazi Nizamuddin, BJP’s Avtar Singh Bhadana and Ubedurehman Ansari of BSP. The counting of the votes will be done on July 13.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button