Over 40,000 unregistered voters in Dehradun district

Monday, 02 August 2021 | PNS | Dehradun

Over 40,000 residents of Dehradun district who largely belong to the age group of 18-19 years are not registered in the assembly electoral roll in Uttarakhand. While preparing for the approaching State assembly elections next year, the district election office came to know about thousands of local residents who are missing from the electoral list.

According to the deputy district election officer, Bir Singh Budiyal, there is a total of 44,502 locals who mostly include adults in their late teens or early 20s and women who are not registered on the voter list. Informing about the procedure of registering the name in the electoral roll, Budiyal said that eligible locals can apply online to register their name on the voter list through National Voters’ Services Portal by visiting www.nvsp.in.

The applicants need to upload a clear colour photograph on the portal besides uploading the relevant certificates as age and address proof. After providing related details, the applicants will get their names registered on the voter list. Moreover, the deputy district election officer asserted that those, who are incapable of registering online on their own like senior citizens and differently-abled people, can go to Common Service Centres (CSCs) for online application. Locals can also call the district election office at toll free number 1950 regarding any information or issues in this matter, informed Budiyal.

Meanwhile, the election office has also asked municipal bodies and councillors to register the names of all the eligible residents in the voter list in their respective areas across the district. Other departments concerned have also been directed by the election office to raise awareness among local residents, especially among the youth and women living in remote areas to encourage them to register their names on the voter list.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button