Kalpana Saini to be BJP candidate for RS

Monday, 30 May 2022 | PNS | Dehradun

The Bharatiya Janata Party has named Kalpana Saini as its candidate for the Rajya Sabha seat from Uttarakhand. Roorkee resident Saini is the chairperson of the Uttarakhand Other Backward Classes Commission. The names of former chief ministers Vijay Bahuguna, Trivendra Singh Rawat, previous Champawat MLA Kailash Gehtodi and other party leaders were earlier making the rounds as potential candidates of the party for the election to Rajya Sabha on the seat from Uttarakhand which will become vacant on July 4.

The process of nomination for the election to the Rajya Sabha seat will start on May 24 with May 31 being the last date for filing of nomination papers. The scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on June 1 and the candidates can withdraw their nomination till June 3. The voting will take place on June 10 and the counting of votes will be done on the same day. The entire process is scheduled to end before June 14.

Related Articles

Back to top button