Counting held for Haridwar civic body

As per the schedule announced by the district administration, the counting of votes for Haridwar municipal corporation and Shivalik Nagar municipal council started at Panna Lal Bhalla Inter College amid tight security at 8 am on Tuesday.  Zero zones were declared within the radius of 1 km from the counting center. The polling had been held on Sunday. For the first time, the seat of the mayor of Haridwar municipal corporation has been reserved for the women.  The contest is straight here between the BJP candidate Anu Kakkar and the Congress candidate Anita Sharma. However, the fight for the post of the chairperson of the newly made Shivalik Nagar municipal council is expected to be triangular involving BJP, Congress, and independents. Speaking to The Pioneer on Tuesday, SP city Mamta Vohra said, “The counting for the mayoral post and the ward members of Haridwar municipal corporation is being held in 10 phases across 10 tables while the same for the chairperson of Shivalik Nagar municipal council is being held across six tables. Fool-proof security arrangements have been put into place to ensure glitch-free counting.”  Besides, adequate parking arrangements have been made a little away from the counting center, added Vohra.

Media banned to enter counting center

Following a tiff between the BJP and Congress supporters outside the counting center, police stopped the entry of the media persons in the center. The heated argument between the supporters of the rival parties followed the BJP demand for recounting of votes polled forward 11. The BJP workers said that the early lead for the Congress in areas deemed to be the saffron strongholds was unbelievable.
 Till 2.30  pm, Congress was leading in areas where BJP is supposed to be strong.  The Congress supporters, however, rubbished the BJP demand for recounting. “The saffron party activists are on edge following the lead was taken by the Congress candidate Anita Sharma over BJP’s Anu Kakkar in the mayoral election of Haridwar municipal corporation.  The lead of the Congress candidate in ward no 11 has made further deepened their frustration,” said a Congress supporter.  Inward number 11, the Congress candidate Rajeev Bhargav won.  BJP’s Shriti Khewadia won from the ward 7 while Congress’s Manju Garg won from ward number 8. Besides, Congress’s Ram Kishan won from ward number 9 and BJP’s Vineet Jolly won from the ward number 10.  The counting was going on at the time of filing the report. The state election commission officers said that the final announcement of the results might be made around midnight. read more posts… Wednesday, 21 November 2018 | PNS | Haridwar–

Related Articles

Back to top button