BJP wins Mayoral seat

BJP wins Rishikesh mayoral seat, counting for other mayoral seats continues late into the night

Even as the local body election results came up with some unexpected developments, the attention of candidates, political parties and others were fixed on the counting of votes for the mayoral posts in six municipal corporations after BJP candidate Anita Mamgai was declared elected as the first mayor of Rishikesh. According to the State Election Commission (SEC), Mamgai secured 26403 votes followed by independent candidate Veena Deep Sharma with 15235 votes and Lakshmi Sajwan of Congress with 12057 votes. AAP candidate Manju Sharma got 317 votes while 306 voters opted for NOTA. Counting of votes for the remaining six mayoral positions was continuing till the time of this report being filed and was expected to be completed late in the night. As per the trends made available by the SEC, in the municipal corporation of Dehradun, the BJP mayoral candidate Sunil Uniyal ‘Gama’ was leading by 13,736 votes ahead of Congress candidate Dinesh Agrawal. For the mayoral post in Haldwani, the Congress candidate Sumit Hridayesh was leading by 2319 votes ahead of BJP candidate and previous mayor Jogendra Pal Singh Rautela. In the municipal corporation of Rudrapur, the BJP mayoral candidate Rampal Singh was leading by 1318 votes ahead of the Congress candidate Nand Lal whereas, in the municipal corporation of Kashipur, BJP mayoral candidate Usha Chowdhry was leading by 5034 votes ahead of the Congress candidate Mukta Singh. In the municipal corporation of Kotdwar, the Congress candidate Hemlata Negi was leading by 2532 votes ahead of independent candidate Vibha Chauhan whereas in Haridwar, the Congress mayoral candidate Anita Sharma was leading by 2323 votes ahead of the BJP candidate Anu Kakkar till the time of this report being filed. read more posts… Wednesday, 21 November 2018 | PNS | Dehradun–

Related Articles

Back to top button