Breaking News

BJP trounces opposition on all 5 seats for third consecutive time

Wednesday, 05 JUNE 2024 | PNS | DEHRADUN

The Bharatiya Janata Party won all the five Lok Sabha constituencies in the State for the third consecutive time with the party leaders and workers starting to celebrate the victory hours before the formal declaration of the results on Tuesday. According to the Election Commission of India, in the Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar constituency, sitting MP Ajay Bhatt won by a high margin of 3,34,548 votes by securing 7,72,671 votes while his nearest rival Prakash Joshi of the Congress received 4,38,123 votes. Akhtar Ali of the Bahujan Samaj Party came third with 23,445 votes. A total of 10,425 voters opted for the None Of The Above (NOTA) option in this constituency. In the Haridwar constituency, former chief minister Trivendra Singh Rawat of the BJP won with 6,53,808 votes defeating his nearest rival Virendra Rawat of the Congress by a margin of 1,64,056 votes. Rawat, the son of former chief minister Harish Rawat secured 4,89,752 votes while independent candidate Umesh Kumar came third with 91,188 votes. Jamil Ahmad of the BSP came fourth with 42,323 votes. A total of 6,826 voters opted for NOTA in this constituency.

Similarly, in the Almora constituency, Ajay Tamta of the BJP defeated his nearest rival Pradeep Tamta of the Congress by a considerable margin of 2,34,097 votes. The BJP candidate secured 4,29,167 votes while the Congress candidate got 1,95,070      votes. Narayan Ram of the BSP came third with 10,075 votes. A total of 17,019 voters opted for NOTA in the Almora constituency.

In the keenly contested Garhwal parliamentary constituency, Anil Baluni of the BJP won by securing 4,32,159 votes, defeating his nearest rival Ganesh Godiyal of Congress by a margin of 1,63,503 votes. Godiyal secured 2,68,656 votes while independent candidate Sonu Kumar came third with 4,882 votes. A total of 11, 375 voters opted for NOTA in the Garhwal constituency.

In the Tehri constituency, Mala Rajya Lakshmi Shah of the BJP won with 4,62,603 votes, defeating her nearest rival Jot Singh Gunsola of the Congress by a margin of 2,72,493 votes. The Congress candidate secured 1,90,110 votes while independent candidate Boby Panwar came third with 1,68,081 votes. In the Tehri constituency 7,458 voters opted for NOTA.

The BJP has won all the five parliamentary seats for the third consecutive time in Uttarakhand since the 2014 election. However, the margin has not been as high as the party was aiming for.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button