AAP spokesman & five members resign from party

Saturday, 29 January 2022 | PNS | Dehradun

Alleging that the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has not chosen a single person from Garhwal origin as its candidate from six constituencies in Dehradun district, AAP  spokesman Sanjay Bhatt resigned from the party on Friday. He averred that AAP is an anti-Garhwali party that neither valued the Garhwalis during Delhi elections nor while selecting the candidates here. While addressing mediapersons in a Press conference on Friday, he said that the present four MLAs of Dehradun are of Garhwal origin. He said that BJP mostly chooses four Garhwali candidates and two non-Garhwalis and Congress gives two to three tickets to Garhwali candidates and three to four tickets to non-Garhwalis to maintain proper representation. Both parties have maintained the same proportion this time too but AAP did not choose even a single Garhwali candidate in Dehradun, stated Bhatt. He said that despite such a huge population of Garhwali people, AAP did not consider it important to choose even a single Garhwali candidate. He also said that leaders like the state in-charge Dinesh Mohaniya and co in-charge of AAP are from Delhi but the party’s chief ministerial candidate Ajay Kothiyal is from Uttarakhand and a Garhwali. He questioned why Kothiyal did not say anything on this issue. He also said that AAP leaders do not follow what they propagate to the party workers and the public. He said that Mohaniya had stated that 60 per cent of candidates for the elections would be chosen from the old party workers but AAP has chosen former leaders of other political parties as its candidates from most of the assembly seats. Bhatt along with the five other members resigned from the party.

Related Articles

Back to top button